Through corporate donations from USAA Foundation, personal donations, and fundraising efforts, the Deer Valley Education Foundation is able to award Impact Grants to 33 teachers to directly support special projects, which will impact more than 8,500 students.

DVEF Board President, Charly Filipek presented the impact grants and shared that “our mission is to do everything we can to promote extraordinary opportunities for the students in this district. Since 1992, we have provided $1.7 million dollars in programs and funding to the school district. So far this year, we are already donated more than $10,000 for books for our Deer Valley school libraries.”

These teachers received DVEF Impact Grants: Julie Riederer, All DVUSD Schools; Erica Fewell and Wendy Houston, Anthem School; Emily McCall, Barry Goldwater HS; Joyce Nevers, Bellair Elementary; Sheila Fields, Naomi Arnold, and Jaime Hansen, Canyon Springs School; Terri Roberts, Amber Gloria, Elizabeth Wamsley, and Stephanie Sullinger-Dukarm, Deer Valley HS; Marie Willis and Deborah Carey, Desert Mountain School; Deborah Sherman and Jamie Showers, Desert Sage Elementary; Eileen Nguyen and Melissa Sepuka, Esperanza Elementary; Jon Malvin and Lisa Stegman, Las Brisas Elementary; Brittnee McKinley, Mountain Shadows Elementary; Melissa Mara, Sara Stollar Yates, and Jess Walsh, Sandra Day O’Connor HS; April Smith, Sierra Verde School; Jessica Kerich, Sonoran Foothills School; Kimberly Lebhart, Stetson Hills Schools; Robert Murray, Sunrise Elementary; Beth Rodriguez, Devon Lopez-Hawkins, Stacy Friedberg, Sunset Ridge; Sierra Wirsig, Terramar School; Angie Schultz, West Wing.