The Rocky Mountain Southwest Chapter of the National Academy of Television and Sciences (NATAS) is pleased to announce that it has secured three-time Emmy nominated comedian John Henson – best known from Talk Soup and Wipeout – as the host for the 41st annual Rocky Mountain Emmy® Awards, which will take place on Saturday, September 22 at Chateau Luxe in Deer Valley.

During the annual gala, the chapter will also induct new members into the Silver Circle Society. To be eligible for the Silver Circle honor, individuals must have served in the broadcast industry for a minimum of 25 years with the majority of that time in the Southwest region. These professionals are the true shining stars of our community, exemplifying community service, mentorship, leadership and excellence both in their personal lives and within their careers.

The 2018 Silver Circle recipients are:

• Tom Fergus, Fox 10 (KSAZ-TV)
• Bruce Cooper, 12 News Sports
• Mike Watkiss, AZ Family
• Joe Hengemuehler, formerly of ABC 15 News (KNXV)

The full list of 2018 Emmy nominees was announced live on August 13. The nominations list will also be posted on the Rocky Mountain Emmy Awards’ website.

For more information about the Rocky Mountain Emmy® Awards or to purchase tickets, please visit

About John Henson: Henson began his professional career as a stand-up comedian, touring the country for many years before gaining audience attention and critical acclaim when he was selected to replace Greg Kinnear as host of E! Entertainment’s Emmy Award-winning series, “Talk Soup.” It was this role as host, writer and co-executive producer of “Talk Soup” that garnered him a cult following, in addition to three Emmy Award nominations.

About NATAS: NATAS is a professional service organization dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and the promotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational and technical achievements within the television industry. The Rocky Mountain Southwest Chapter, formed in 1959, represents Arizona, New Mexico, Utah, Wyoming, and El Centro, Calif.