Shadow Mountain High School’s Air Force Junior Reserve Officer Training Corps (AFJROTC) unit is one of only 10 high school programs across the country to be selected as the inaugural cohort of high school Space Force JROTC (SFJROTC) detachments.

“We are very excited to offer this unique opportunity for our Shadow Mountain High School JROTC students, and we are very honored to have been selected to be in the inaugural cohort of the U.S. Space Force JROTC,” says Principal David Appleman.

In addition to Shadow Mountain High School, the specifically chosen schools will make history as the inaugural cohort of high school SFJROTC units. The additional nine schools selected are: Arlington Career Center, Arlington, Va.; Del Norte High School, Albuquerque, N.M.; Durango High School, Las Vegas, Nev.; Falcon High School, Falcon, Colo.; Huntsville High School, Huntsville, Ala.; Klein High School, Spring, Texas; Space Coast Jr/Sr High School, Cocoa, Fla.; The Academy for Academic Excellence, Apple Valley, Calif.; and Warren County High School, Warrenton, N.C.

Considerations for unit selection included school proximity to space bases, facilities, and centers of influence, for example, Space Command Headquarters, NASA, Missile Defense Agency, etc., or current instructor cadre with prior space operations experience.
The inception of the United States Space Force as the newest military service, that protects U.S. and allied interests in space and provides space capabilities to the joint force, was the catalyst for these conversions.