The Peoria Education Foundation announced Mayor Cathy Carlat and the Peoria City Council as their selection for 2019’s recipients of the Visionary Award.

Tammy Caraway, president of the Peoria Education Foundation made the announcement at the city council meeting, November 12.The award will be presented at the annual Visionary Awards dinner in April 2020.

The Peoria Education Foundation is made up of community members, business leaders, elected officials and community volunteers with a vested interest in Peoria Unified School District students and staff.

The Peoria Education Foundation was established in 1987 as the Peoria Educational Enrichment Foundation. The 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization administers two primary programs: college scholarships to students who have overcome extraordinary circumstances and grants to teachers for innovative classroom programs.

In 2012, the organization changed names to the Peoria Education Foundation, however the mission remains the same – support excellence in the Peoria Unified School District.Since its inception, the Foundation has distributed more than $1,000,000 in scholarships to students and grants to teachers in the Peoria Unified School District.