Information and Photo Courtesy of Cave Creek Unified School District

Get out your pencil and paper and take note of some of the latest news from Cave Creek Unified School District (CCUSD).

Board Extends Superintendent Contract through 2025
At a recent meeting, CCUSD’s Governing Board approved Dr. Cort Monroe’s employment contract through 2025. Dr. Monroe was hired with a 2.5-year contract beginning January 1, 2021. This extension solidifies the Board’s commitment to Dr. Monroe’s service to CCUSD.

“It is my pleasure to announce the contract extension of Cave Creek Unified School District Superintendent, Dr. Cort Monroe,” says Governing Board President Beth Hatcher. “By majority vote, the Governing Board agreed to extend Dr. Monroe’s contract due to his desire and work to obtain long-term sustainability for the district. In these uncertain times for school districts, Dr. Monroe has restructured the organization providing for an equal emphasis on the middle and high schools, implemented Professional Learning Communities for our teachers to enhance student achievement, and continues to pursue various funding opportunities for the Cave Creek Unified School District.”

“I am excited to continue the great work we have started with teachers, staff, leaders, parents and community members to achieve our mission of providing an innovative, high quality learning experience for all CCUSD students across our schools,” Dr. Monroe says. “Side by side with the Governing Board, we can work together as one team to develop curious, resilient, critical-thinking problem solving students who make a difference and inspire excellence in the world.”

CCUSD Names 2022 Teacher of the Year
Recently, CCUSD celebrated their 2022 Teacher of the Year event. Held at the Holland Center, all seven teachers nominated were there with their families and principals. Also in attendance were School Board President Beth Hatcher, Board Members Scott Brown and Janet Busbee, as well as the CCUSD Cabinet, to celebrate these outstanding teachers.

The Nominated Teachers Included:
• Tracy Clay, Cactus Shadows High School
• Jessica Cresswell, Horseshoe Trails Elementary School
• Desiree D’Ambrosi, Sonoran Trails Middle School
• Danielle Michalizysen, Desert Sun Academy
• Cindy Minor, Desert Willow Elementary
• Colleen Neiman, Lone Mountain Elementary
• Susan Spigarelli, Black Mountain Elementary
Cindy Minor was named the 2022 CCUSD Teacher of the Year and will go on to compete in Arizona Education Foundation Teacher of the Year.

Cactus Shadows High School’s Student Newspaper Wins Gold Crown Award
Cactus Shadows High School’s student newspaper, “CS Press,” has won the Gold Crown Award from Columbia Scholastic Press Association. The “CS Press” is one of only ten high school newspapers in the country to receive this award – and the only high school in Arizona to be honored. The “CS Press” is student-run, led by thirteen student editors with help from faculty adviser Lori Hart. There are 21 students in total on the staff of the newspaper, which also has an online presence at