The city of Tempe has officially confirmed six candidates for the upcoming primary elections scheduled for March 12. These candidates, having successfully submitted the requisite nomination papers and signature petitions, will be vying for the mayoral seat and three seats on the city council.

The sole mayoral candidate is Corey Woods. The city council candidates, listed alphabetically by last name, include Nikki Amberg, Doreen Garlid, Randy Keating, David Lucier, and Hugo Tapia. The qualification process required each candidate to gather between 1,000 and 2,752 valid signatures from registered voters in Tempe. However, it is important to note that the nomination petitions and paperwork are still subject to legal challenges.

The elected candidates will assume their four-year terms in office starting July 2024.

Voting Information for Residents: Residents must register to vote by February 12 to participate in the March 12 election. Ballots will be mailed to all registered voters in Tempe starting from February 14. Voters can check their registration status at and register through the Maricopa County Elections Department by calling 602-506-1511 or visiting
According to Tempe City Charter, Section 7.01, the primary election serves to nominate or directly elect candidates. A general election, scheduled for May 21, may not be necessary if one mayoral candidate and three council candidates secure the majority of votes in the primary. In such a case, the March 12 primary would effectively serve as the final electoral decision, eliminating the need for a later general election.

For additional information about the election, residents are encouraged to visit or contact the city clerk’s office at 480-350-8242 or via email at [email protected].